Thanjavur rose to Glory during the
later Chola Reign between 11th and 14th Centuries AD and became the centre
of learning and culture. It is the head quarters of the district of the
same name Thanjavur. Known as the ‘Rice Bowl’ of tamilnadu.
It is also known for its exquisite handicrafts.
Purnima of full moon day is auspicious for bathing in the Punya theerthas (holy rivers/tank), the Magha Purnima is considered as the most sacred of all, The Masi Maghani festival is celebrated every year on this day. The twelve yearly Masi Magam is called the Mahamaham, The Mahamaham festival is celebrated once in twelve years and attracts pilgrims from all over India on the full moon day of the eleventh solar month Magha.
The eight-storey victory tower here was built by the Maratha King Serfoji in the ear 1814 to commemorate the victory of the British over Napoleon Bonaparte at Waterloo.
Saraswathi Mahal Library
This library has one of the most important oriental manuscripts collections, in India. Established around 1700 AD. The library contains a collection of over 44,000 manuscripts in palm leaves and paper, and more than 4,500 foreign books which bear the scholar king’s autographs. Over eighty percent of its manuscripts are in Sanskrit, many on palm leases, some very rare or even unique.
Pattukottai Kalyanasundaram Mani Maudapam
He was born on 13-04-1930.Kavingar Pattukottai Kalyanasundaram wrote poems depicting weaker peoples aspirations. He was involved in the farmers struggles and worked for their upliftment. He was also a member of the Communist Party of India and worked tirelessly for its ideals. He tested his hands in as many as 17 different professions like, agriculture, drama, salt work, art fields etc.
Thanjavur is famous for a special style of decorating the paintings which were done both on glass and board. In both types, the figures and the background are richly embellished with gold leaf and gems as ornaments. The relief work on board is achieved by applying gesso, a mixture of gypsum or plaster of Paris and glue. Krishna in various poses has been the main theme, but there are also various paintings in temples, of all the other Gods and Saints.
The Palace, on the East main street is a series of large and rambling buildings of fine masonry, built partly by the Nayaks (1532- 1675 AD) and partly by the Marathas (1676-1855 AD) The entrance is by way of a large quandrangular courtyard. The encircling walls are pierced by big gateways to the North and East. The courtyard leads to a many-pillared hall. A small inner courtyard gives access to a large one.